Little I’s little finger.

Pointing in any direction is little I’s new thing.
And interpreting it is my new thing.

Here’s what we can do all day.

1. In the garden.

Pointing to the right could mean,

Take me there or
You go there or
Tell me what’s on that side? or
Maybe the birdy went there? or
Don’t give up mum, keep guessing.

Pointing to the left could mean,
Look, I can point this side too or
Repeat everything that was on the right side.

2. Pointing anywhere on the floor scattered with toys could mean,

Get me that blue ball
No that green ball
No maybe this little bag which is right next to my foot
Actually no give me that small piece lying next to the bag
Or wait let me scream as if why-can’t-mum-understand, all I want is that little red cup.

3. On her high chair while having her food.

Pointing anywhere around the kitchen could mean,

I want that spoon
Or that bottle
Or that cup
Or that glass
Or that bottle again
Or maybe that fruit
Ok none of the above. Start again.

4. While having a bath.

Pointing anywhere in the bathroom could mean,

Bring me that soap
Or you come in the tub
Or let’s go out
Or put the bucket in the tub
Or start the tap
Or shut that tap
Or when everything else fails, bring that pot in the tub.

Right now we are pointing at the ceiling. Let’s start.

Leave a Reply

