The Boy Who Swallowed A Nail & Other Stories by Lalita Iyer.

My shelfie this week.

I love reading Lalita’s blogs (www.mommygolightly.com) so, was very eager to read her new book. Because I knew, just like her posts every story in this book would make me smile too.
And it surely did.

In ‘Everyone Goes To Nainital’ I loved Amma who is wondering where to hang a clothesline in a hotel room.

In ‘Appa And His Weird Friends’ there’s John, the carpenter who stitches up the sofa but leaves a noisy mouse inside.

This charming collection of the adventures of Lalita’s family takes you into a quirky little world where you forget playing an adult for sometime and enjoy some innocent storytelling.

I also read a few stories to little I and she couldn’t stop giggling when I told her about Appa who once wanted to bring home a buffalo. And her biggest concern was, ‘how will the buffalo enter through the door?’

The illustrations by Shamika Kocharekar add an endearing layer of quirkiness to all the stories.

A delightful read for parents and children. Available on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

