I wish you boredom

“I am bored.”

If I put a lego down for every time I say those words, I would have built the world’s highest tower by now. 
Why can’t boredom be cool?

Why not say, “let’s do something boring today.”

Or “hey, how about we join that boring class?”

Our hearts only want to jump from one exciting thing to another. That’s how we get the rush; sharing all the exciting pictures of doing something ‘cool.’

We never share the boring stuff because nobody is interested, it’s not glamorous, it doesn’t make anyone envious, it doesn’t get any likes. 

Doing the dishes doesn’t give me any rush, it’s plain boring. 

When I do boring things, my brain only throws life questions into my live feed. 

“What am I doing?”

“Is this the sole purpose of my life?”

“Oh, everybody is changing the world and look at me.”

But here’s what I am doing.

I am learning to calm down.

What’s boring to me, is not for my four year old.

She looks forward to emptying that dishwasher. I am glad, because it must be teaching her a lesson without me saying a word. 
She gets to count the spoons, guess the shapes and share her crazy dreams that she had last night. 

And we, are listening. 

The father has taken a break from his laptop and is emptying the sink as he hears her stories about the wolf in her dreams who wouldn’t share his crayons. 

And I, have stopped over analyzing boredom. 

Boredom is inevitable. 

It is essential. 

Boredom doesn’t want to be ‘cool’. 

It wants you to do things that you think are cool. 
And now that I am done with the boring stuff, my heart will automatically look for something that will excite me.

Sitting by the window, day dreaming, sipping my hot masala tea, while she makes a colorful mess with some finger paint. 

Or just walking down to the riverside to watch the boats get on with life.

Or learning a new skill, pottery maybe? 

I wish you lots of boredom, because boredom makes everything else look exciting. 

Leave a Reply

